About the Adult Behind-the-Wheel Course
The Adult Behind-the-Wheel Course is to verify that an individual age 18 or older can demonstrate proficiency in driving maneuvers and is prepared for a driver's license. During this course, the instructor should only have to make corrections and/or demonstrate complex maneuvers for students to improve as drivers. The course consists of 7 days of in-vehicle instruction periods and during the seventh instruction period the road test is given.
However, if a student does not know how to drive we will include teaching how to drive for an additional fee of $150. Students choosing this option should know that 6.5 hours of driving may not be enough time to learn and perform the skills necessary for a driver's license and should plan to practice on their own time, when possible.
If the instructor does not think that the student's skill level, at the end of the sixth instruction period, will allow them to pass the road test then the test will be postponed. The seventh period will be completed without the road test portion. The student can then decide to practice with family/friends or purchase driving lessons to improve the skills necessary to earn a driver's license. Once the student feels ready to take the test, they can call to schedule a road test appointment at the school location.
If a student fails the test, the retake must be taken at the school location by appointment and a retest fee of $35 must be paid.
This course is NOT required for an individual age 18 or older. It is optional.
Individuals age 18 and older must hold the learner's permit for a period of 60 days before they can return to the DMV to take the road test. Road test applicants must complete and submit the required driving checklist with a licensed driver when arriving to take the road test.
The Virginia Driver Education Program can be completed by adults to get a road test through the driver training school and to waive the 60-day hold requirement for a learner's permit. The Program consists of 2 courses, the Driver Education Course (classroom or online) and the Adult Behind-the-Wheel Course. Both of these courses need to be completed to take a road test at a driver training school instead of at the DMV.
Have a valid Virginia learner's permit.
Complete a Virginia-approved Driver Education classroom or online course.
Demonstrate proficiency in driving maneuvers required by DMV for base price.
Complete and submit the registration form for the course.
Enrollment is limited and students are enrolled on a first come, first served basis.
After submitting the registration form, a response will be sent to the email(s) provided. This email will again detail information about the course and the requirements for the course. The available start date will be listed in the email as well. Respond to the email with copies or pictures of the required documents so that we can verify that you are eligible for the course.
This is very important! The contract must be signed and submitted to the school, in-person or digitally, by the date given in the email to reserve your seat in the course and to reserve the start date you received initially.
A 40% non-refundable cash deposit is required with the submission of the contract.
The balance will be due before the student's first day of the course.
For example, a Hampton student who needs to be taught how to drive has a course fee of $400. The student will pay a deposit of $160 and the balance of $240 will be due before the first day of the course.
In the event that the school is incapable of or unwilling to perform its part of the contract within 90 days of the first scheduled appointment, a refund of all fees will be made upon written request. However, the school cannot be held responsible for delays caused by unsafe driving conditions due to weather or any other reason over which it has no control. A partial refund (less the 40% deposit) will be provided upon request if services have already been rendered. No refund will be issued for failing a course or missing instruction periods repeatedly.
If yes, then great! You are now ready to complete Step 1.
Click the button below to begin the enrollment process and fill out the registration form.
Pricing can be found by clicking the button below.
Driving is conducted Monday through Friday. Saturdays are available if we are not teaching classroom courses. Most Sundays are not available for driving. Most driving days consist of appointments from 7 AM to 7 PM.
If there is a "holiday specific" course, such as Spring Break Week, the course will run from Sunday to Saturday.
We do our best to arrange the closest time available for your behind-the-wheel course. However, majority of our students are teens in high school and college and the late afternoon appointment times go first and therefore, will have a longer waiting period.
We try to be as flexible as possible with student schedules and therefore, do not have set course dates. During the school year, afternoon instruction periods from 2:00 pm to 7:00 pm are our busiest. Wait periods could be as long as 4 to 6 weeks.
Summer time allows for a more flexible schedule. Appointments could be early morning or afternoon depending on availability. Summer time is the busiest time of the year for us. Wait periods could be 6 weeks or longer.