Top Notch Driving Schools Inc. has partnered with the National Driver Training Institute to provide our students with the Virginia Online Driver Education Course.
The price for our Online Driver Education Course is $150.
This Online Driver Education Course consists of 7 levels. At the end of each level, there is a test to see if you have the proficiency to move on to the next level. You must score at least an 80% on all tests to successfully complete the course.
Online Driver Education Courses are available to juveniles and adults. These courses are approved by the Department of Education and have the same course content as classroom-based driver education courses. In order to obtain your driver's license (under age 18), you must also complete the driving portion of Driver Education, Behind-the-Wheel.
The course consists of at least 30 hours of instructions and include components about alcohol safety, drug abuse awareness, aggressive driving, distracted driving, pedestrian and bicycle safety, handicapped parking, fuel efficient driving practices, motorcycle awareness and organ and tissue donation awareness as required by law.
You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to take the online driver education course.
All individuals who elect to take the classroom component of the driver's education course online must take the online course through a DMV licensed driver training school. Home-schooled students are exempt from this requirement. Visit the Virginia DMV website >>> Driver Education Information for Home Schoolers for full details.
In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable using a computer (mobile devices are not recommended).
This additional minimum 90-minute parent/student driver education component is part of the in-classroom portion of the driver education curriculum and emphasizes parental responsibilities regarding juvenile driver behavior, juvenile driving restrictions and the dangers of driving while intoxicated and underage consumption of alcohol, as required by Virginia Code §22.1-205.
Students under age 18 outside of Planning District 8 may be required by their school division to participate in this component, along with their parent or guardian, as part of the in-classroom portion of the driver education curriculum. The course can be completed in person or online. To find which school divisions require the completion of this additional component, refer to School Divisions Requiring 90-Minute Parent/Teen Component.
Students must schedule a time to take the test prior to arrival. Students will not be able to take the test if they arrive without notice. Must have 30 hours of the course completed and logged to schedule the final exam.
Address: 878 J Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23601
Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday - 10AM - 5PM; Wednesday - 11AM - 5PM; Saturday & Sunday if we are available.
May 21st - July 25th - Office will be closed on Tuesdays & Thursdays. If you need an online course final exam appointment on Tuesday or Thursday please contact us to inquire about availability.
Questions or Comments: call us Monday through Friday from 10AM to 5PM at (757) 926-5956 or email us at email@example.com.
Technical Support: call the National Driver Training Institute help desk Monday through Friday from 8AM to 6PM (central time) at 1-800-942-2050. You can also send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. If you have comments or concerns about this course, call the DMV toll-free number 1-877-885-5790.
Please fill out the registration form using the button below. Forms sent after office hours or on holidays will receive a reply when we return to the office.
The course fee must be received before we will send the course login information by email.
Payment methods accepted are cash, money order or card. Online Payments can be made at our online store.
Once we have both your registration form and the course fee, we will submit them to the National Driver Training Institute to get your course login information. Please note that this process is completed by hand, if you submit registration or payment after office hours then this will be completed when we return to the office.
Teen - study the Preface and Level 1. Parent(s) - quiz your teen on their knowledge of each level throughout the entire course.
Students working through the program online will see their work logged online automatically. After you have completed Level 6, you will see a directive that let's you know it is now time for you to take your exam.
Classroom Activity Hour Requirements
A minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction is required throughout the entire training
course. Classroom training hours are comprised of reading the lesson material, test taking,
viewing traffic safety videos, and completing required activities. We do not require a minimum
number of classroom hours per level, although we recommend the following:
In addition to the hours of reading and activities listed in each level, we also provide suggested
activities for each level that are not mandatory. You may choose from these activities to
supplement your teen’s driver education.
Expect your student to achieve a 80% passing score on written tests. If passing scores are not achieved on the first try, the test must be taken again. Your teen may take one online test within a 24 hour period. It is important that the teen knows and understands this important material.
Students must schedule a time to take the test prior to arrival. Students will not be able to take the test if they arrive without notice. Must have 30 hours of the course completed to schedule the final exam.
The final exam is 50 multiple choice questions, taken at random from a pool of 200 questions. Open book testing is not allowed. You will need to achieve, at minimum, a score of 80% to receive a passing score on the exam. You will receive your certificate of completion upon successful completion of the exam, no mailing necessary.
The final exam for the online driver training course must be administered at an approved classroom location and monitored by a DMV licensed driver training school instructor associated with the driver training school. The test may be taken only once per business day.
After you have completed the online driver’s education course and are ready to take the final examination, contact the driver training school where you completed the online course to schedule the date, place and time of the final examination.
Testing must be conducted at the scheduled test site. Any changes in testing site must be mutually agreed upon by student, parent (if student is under age 18) and instructor. DMV does not maintain schedules for testing.
On the day of testing, you must bring the following to the test site:
The online driver training school will provide a computer for testing. The student takes the final examination online in the presence of the licensed instructor. Upon successful completion of the final exam the student will receive the course completion certificate.
After you have completed the final exam, you and the instructor must sign the "Online Driver Education Examination Monitor Record" (DTS 63), indicating the time-in and time-out of the test site.
If you have passed the final examination, you will receive a certificate of completion from the online driver training school instructor. You must present the certificate to the driver training school conducting the behind-the-wheel instruction component of the driver’s education course as proof of completion of the classroom component.
If you have failed the final examination, you must retake the examination another day. The student will be allowed to review any section of the completed course to prepare to take the examination again. The exam can only be taken once per day.