About the Teen Behind-the-Wheel Course
The Teen Behind-the-Wheel Course is to verify that an individual under age 18 can demonstrate proficiency in driving maneuvers and is prepared for a driver's license. The course consists of 14 50-minute periods with a driver training school instructor as required by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. These 14 periods are broken up into 7 days of 1 hour and 40 minute sessions (50 minutes of driving and 50 minutes of observing). As required by the state of Virginia, students must complete this course with at least one other student driver in the vehicle.
45-Hour Driving Log Requirement
To obtain a driver's license in Virginia, teens under age 18 must complete 45 hours of guided practice, at least 15 of which were after sunset. Since students are graded on their driving skills, a teen WILL NOT be eligible for this course or a driver's license without at least 30 hours of guided practice completed.
The 180-day temporary license WILL NOT be issued until the student submits a driving log with the 45 hours of driving recorded and recorded correctly.
Parent or Guardian will be required to sign the teen's 180-day temporary driver's license stating that the teen completed the requirement of 45 hours of driving before the issuance of the driver's license. Falsifying information to obtain a driver's license is illegal. Anyone who certifies to a false statement may be prosecuted. DMV will not issue, for a period of one year, a driver's license when a person has made a willful material false statement on any application for a driver's license.
The 180-Day Temporary Driver's License
The course completion certificate (Virginia Driver Training Certificate) that the student receives after passing the road skills test is a valid 180-day temporary driver's license when accompanied by a valid Virginia learner's permit. A permit must have possessed the learner's permit for at least 9 months and be at least 16 years and 3 months old to use the 180-day temporary driver's license.
Teens under age 18 do not need to visit their local DMV for the permanent driver's license to be issued. The driver training school send the DMV copy of the course completion certificate by USPS to the Driver's License and ID Card Work Center in Richmond. Within the 180-day period, you will receive a notice from the Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court that serves the student's zip code that will tell you when to appear in court for a licensing ceremony. During this ceremony, your teen will receive their driver's license. You must be accompanied by a parent, custodial parent, or legal guardian when receiving a permanent first-time driver's license.
It is very important that DMV has the student's correct home address. The driver training school cannot make address changes.
Possess a Virginia learner's permit.
AT LEAST 30 hours of the 45 hours of guided driving practice completed and logged with parent or mentor signature.
Completed Driver Education and have the Certificate of Completion (we cannot accept a transcript).
Completed the 90-Minute Parent/Teen Component of Driver Education (Williamsburg-James City County residents).
Complete and submit the registration form for the course.
Enrollment is limited and students are enrolled on a first come, first served basis.
After submitting the registration form, a response will be sent to the email(s) provided. This email will again detail information about the course and the requirements for the course. The available start date will be listed in the email as well. Respond to the email with copies or pictures of the required documents so that we can verify that you are eligible for the course.
This is very important! The contract must be signed and submitted to the school, in-person or digitally, by the date given in the email to reserve your seat in the course and to reserve the start date you received initially.
A 40% non-refundable cash deposit is required with the submission of the contract.
The balance will be due before the student's first day of the course.
For example, a Hampton student's course fee is $250. The student will pay a deposit of $100 and the balance of $150 will be due before the first day of the course.
In the event that the school is incapable of or unwilling to perform its part of the contract within 90 days of the first scheduled appointment, a refund of all fees will be made upon written request. However, the school cannot be held responsible for delays caused by unsafe driving conditions due to weather or any other reason over which it has no control. A partial refund (less the 40% deposit) will be provided upon request if services have already been rendered. No refund will be issued for failing a course or missing instruction periods repeatedly.
If yes, then great! You are now ready to complete Step 1.
Click the button below to begin the enrollment process and fill out the registration form.
If you are an approved home schooler, driver education can be taught at home. The student must currently be enrolled in a home-schooled program approved by your school division superintendent.
Visit the Virginia DMV website >>> Driver Education Information for Home Schoolers for full details.
Pricing can be found by clicking the button below.
Driving is conducted Monday through Friday. Saturdays are available if we are not teaching classroom courses. Most Sundays are not available for driving. Most driving days consist of appointments from 7 AM to 7 PM.
If there is a "holiday specific" course, such as Spring Break Week, the course will run from Sunday to Saturday.
We do our best to arrange the closest time available for your behind-the-wheel course. However, majority of our students are teens in high school and college and the late afternoon appointment times go first and therefore, will have a longer waiting period.
We try to be as flexible as possible with student schedules and therefore, do not have set course dates like the school system. However, if the student cannot be available when other teens in the course are then it will make their behind-the-wheel course completion period longer than our typical 2 week period. During the school year, afternoon instruction periods from 2:00 pm to 7:00 pm are our busiest. Wait periods could be as long as 4 to 6 weeks.
Summer time allows for a more flexible schedule since many students are out of school. Appointments could be early morning or afternoon depending on availability. Summer time is the busiest time of the year for us. Wait periods could be 6 weeks or longer.